How to Access the Expansion Packs in Quake (Enhanced)

Glorious Zach

August 27, 2021

There was a surprise announcement during QuakeCon that the original Quake from 1996 would be receiving an enhancement with improved performance, increased visual settings, and all official expansion packs.

You can now find this new and improved version on both Steam and through Xbox Gamepass. If you have never played through this eldritch horror shooter, now is as good a time as any!

With this re-release, all expansion packs come bundled with the game, and we want to make sure you don't miss how to access them. Follow these steps to get the most out of Quake (Enhanced):

1) At the Main Menu, select the Single Player option.

Quake Main Menu

2) From here, you can choose New Game or Level Select. We suggest starting a new game if this is your first time playing.

Quake Single Player Selection Menu

3) From here, you can select whether you want to play the original Quake campaign or one of the four expansion packs. These packs include Scourge of Armageddon, Dissolution of Eternity, Dimension of the Past, and Dimension of the Machine.

Quake Campaign Selection Menu

4) After choosing your desired campaign, the game will take you to a hub area. This area has no threats - it is merely a way to choose the campaign's difficulty. Follow the signs to find your desired difficulty.

Quake Choose Difficulty

5) After finding the difficulty you want, walk through the looming splitgate, and prepare to slay some horrifying abominations.

Quake Splitgate

Congratulations! You have officially begun your journey in Quake. We hope you have a great time experiencing a true pillar of the PC shooter genre.

If you have played these expansion packs before, we are curious what your favorite is. Let us know in the comments below - we would love to hear from you!

Leave a comment!